• Desmond Elliott 2015 Winner

    Desmond Elliott 2015 Winner

    Francis Spufford with his winning novel Golden Hill

  • Desmond Elliott winner agent and chair of judges

    Desmond Elliott winner agent and chair of judges

    Clare Alexander, Francis Spufford and Sam Leith

  • Desmond Elliott shortlist

    Desmond Elliott shortlist

    Past winners of the Desmond Elliott Prize

The Prize for New Fiction

“The UK’s most prestigious award for first-time novelists” — Telegraph


Launched in 2007, The Desmond Elliott Prize has quickly become established as the premier prize for new fiction.

Every year, a panel of three judges are asked to look for a novel which has a compelling narrative, arresting characters and which is both vividly written and confidently realised. Books from all fiction genres are considered.

Worth £10,000 to the winner, the Prize is intended to support new writers and to celebrate their fiction. It was created in memory of the charismatic publisher and literary agent Desmond Elliott, who died in August 2003. He stipulated that his estate should be invested in a charitable trust that would fund a literary award “to enrich the careers of new writers”.